The Late Night Munch

42 & Counting

Don’t get confused about the title, I have not lost 42 pounds, and probably never will by the way.

Forty-two are the amount of days it’s been It’s since I published my first post of the series “The Late Night Munch” on my blog.

What followed on April 2nd, was Enough is Enough! It’s been thirty days since I stopped consuming meat. I’ve had tried it before (2019) and I was feeling so much better on all fronts, but then meat just came back into my life, or in honest words I decided to begin consuming meat once again.

I’m not trying to advocate for anyone to leave anything, just sharing what’s working for me. Just in case, you are looking for some inspiration.

Photo by Lukas on Pexels.com

I challenged myself with showing up on my blog to journal about what was happening with the changes I wanted in my life.

Although, I did finish that first post a bit like this,

Whereas I’m super crappy at commitments, so no surprise if I don’t post anything for a year following this post and never, ever get off the MUNCHIN TRAIN. HA!

The Late Night Munch

I’m grateful to myself for working on my commitment’s issues and yes, showing up to write every other day or so. It’s helped me a lot because I have been able to reflect on these past forty-two days.

So far it hasn’t been easy, a day like yesterday where everything was kind of out of whack and we (Puerto Rico) experienced the hottest day of 2023 a burger did dazzle me for a moment.

But, I was able to talk to myself and settled for an impossible burger, which was pretty amazing by the way. I did have an ice-cream cone with like regular dairy (these days I’m trying to stay away from the hormones that are found in dairy). But if I want to or have to (due to circumstances) I’ll consume dairy without any problem at all.

I’m learning to be compassionate and kind with myself.

Not rushing through my meals and savoring each and every bite. Food is not my enemy, I’m grateful I do have access to food, regardless of the type or kind. I’m trying to stick to just regular old fashioned non-processed food.

I’m not counting calories, or ever plan to, and I’m not eating strictly on servings. I just eat when I’m hungry and that’s that.

Mostly what I want to find out (which I will soon enough) is how my blood work is doing. I hope my cholesterol level is downward, if not it’s just genetics. Let’s blame it on Mom!

Finally, I want to share that last Saturday I was on an outing with my twelve-year-old and when he invited me to go in an obstacle course in the form of a bouncy house, and I went for it.

I was a bit scared I would fail epically at the challenges, but when we both finished and were going down the gigantic slide, I felt more alive than I’ve felt in a very long time. My body was pulsating with sheer joy as I laughed, jumped and came tumbling down the slide with him following very close behind. I felt grateful for that moment of connection that was created between us as we played and laughed together.

It has made all these forty-two days worth each and every moment. So, I’ll just keep it up as best as I can.

See you when I see you and thanks for stopping by.

Leave a comment