Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything.

To an extent it’s because I’ve become trapped in my own thoughts, most not worth writing about.

Our world is in turmoil since November 4th and the easiest way out would be blaming Trump and moving on.  However, if I’m going to honest it’s not about Trump or anybody else, it’s about me because  I am part of a society that is liable for placing Trump where he is right now.

The funny part is that as an American citizen I can’t vote for president unless I’m living in one the continental states, however I am affected directly by the President’s policies.

Policies that will make the rich, richer and the poor, poorer.

Basically because  we’ve forgotten to give each other hope in a recession because of our egocentricity,  and have been held prisoners  by a rhetoric delivered with a 5th grader’s vocabulary. And all of a sudden we think that we can make America great with hatred and escalated verbal and physical violence.

Not taking into notice that America can be built greater if we build communities where people can come together and find solutions to the problems we face together regardless of the differences we have.

Most of the time life is hard for so many reasons and we just forget to hope and believe.  Which is by the way ironically is one of the things I think I am, a believer.

Life presents us with so many horrible situations where we have to make a stand or just simply walk away.  The coward in us wants to walk away and be settled in a status quo that most of the time will lead us to live half alive and half dead.  Probably the people who created The Walking Dead with its one line plot feed upon people like me or maybe you.

The dreamers in all of us wish that our problems would just melt away like lemon drops, but its not that simple.  Caring for others is hard enough, imagine if we tried to be changers in a society that  is more and more about the individual and less and less of our problems as a community or country.

Tonight as I searched for songs for a conversational English course that I’m teaching,  I came across one of my favorite songs that transported me back to 6th grade and back to my dreams of finding a place of happiness somewhere over the rainbow.

I felt moved as I listened to Israel Kamakawiwo’ole sing about hope and happiness, and felt such a coward for not standing up to life’s endless situations.

My husband is about to loose his job because of a partial close of a pharmaceutical company, hence it’s no secret that we are all touched by the ups and downs of an uncertain economy.  However, all of us need to hold on to believing that in someway or form are dreams may come true if we are brave enough to believe.

And that my dear readers may sound to many as something delusional to an extent, but nevertheless don’t underestimate the power of  hope.

Hope is the engine of our lives, making us stand stronger in the face of adversity and when the day comes to an end and we welcome the night expecting something good to happen the next day with the rise of the sun.

May we all rest tonight expecting a brighter and better day tomorrow. Life is waiting for us whenever we’re ready to embrace it.

See you around the corner.

