Tags

, , , , ,

Back in the day (at least my day), when my then young children had to comply with my instructions, I told them what to do and they did it.  No ifs, protests, or anything as  a matter of fact.

via morguefile

Now things have changed a bit, I’ve shifted my style a bit.  If you’re nice, then you’ll get to ride the multiple cars that are at the exit of the supermarket.  The words naughty and nice are gaining importance in my household by the second.

Probably many parents struggle each day with simple commands, as:

“Brush your teeth”, ”

“We need to get you out of your pajamas.”,

“Comb your hair”, or

“Pick up your mess”.

Gee, I know I repeat these every day at least ten times a day. 

For starters, if I get him to brush his teeth, he’ll do it on his terms, which usually translates in using more water than usual,

if he gets out of his pajamas, he fusses over the clothes that he wants to wear that particular day,

if he combs his hair, it’s gonna be only the bangs,

and if he picks up his mess, it’s after serious intimidation methods, and ends up pleading for help to complete the task.

He sounds like a small spoiled brat (which he probably is), but I’ve talked to other parents who struggle with the same thing.  Once someone shared with me over coffee, what she thought was the problem.

Today’s children are overstimulated.  They interact with technology and receive immediate response (that’s why they probably want everything now), too much at the same time happens in their lives.

Well, she does have a point or two.

They are the children of the Era of Technology & Information.

Though bottom line, our children have learned early on in life to bargain and are darn good at it.  They can give any broker a run for their money and we can’t expect to raise them the same way children were reared twenty plus years ago.

Or can we?

Not sure on that one folks.

So you see my dear amigos, karma is a bitch and it will bite you in the tail, I thought that my GI methods a long time away were unbeatable (I raised three great adults), but they no longer stand a chance to this brand new generation of Peppa Kids.

No longer do I raise my little noise in disbelief when I see a full-blown tantrum and you are going to see me in the supermarket any given day negotiating a ride or whatever it is he wants that day, if he’s a nice boy.   Basically because change is what makes this beautiful blue globe spin each day and life is all about it.  Even if it means that we have to change our old ways.

And remember never stop believing in the beauty of life or yourself.

“Hasta la próxima.”

 

 

 

