Tags

, , , , , , ,

Having a preschooler in the house is the same thing as watching a lot and I mean a lot of television programs that shift around Nick Jr, Discovery for Kids, and Disney networks.

Ian loves Peppa Pig, so I watch at least ten episodes a day of the darn cartoon.  I listen to it in Spanish or English.

 

Print

 

What can he possibly like about a family of pigs that usually at the end of the show throw themselves to the floor and begin laughing like maniacs?

I’m guessing it’s the strange sound they make after each sentence!

I don’t like the show a bit, because Peppa is a bit self-centered and always gets away with whatever it is she’s up to.  Sometimes I think she’s mean with her dad, not her mom, but her dad which is always the target.

I can recall an episode, where they wanted to feed the ducks in the park and had already eaten their cake, so they took Daddy’s piece (without asking) and gave it to the dam ducks.  But, the most incredible thing is that Daddy Pig wasn’t the least aggravated.

I know for sure the Daddy Pig of this house will be hell mad, if Ian gave away his piece without at least asking first.

After that particular episode I began noticing details in the show that amused me.

For starters, Daddy Pig never gets aggravated.

Mommy Pig is always sweet, patient and understanding.

Peppa is basically like any self-centered preschooler we can find all over America.

The only difference is that most parents aren’t like Daddy Pig or Mommy Pig.  We get more aggravated than we should and our virtue of patience sometimes runs very short, and our homes are not tidy at all, unless we’re on top of it 24/7, which is exhausting.

Saying parenting is hard is an understatement, it’s terribly hard.  It’s easier to imitate Daddy Pig saying “yes” to almost anything and just letting it go.  The less the children are aggravated the better for our peace of mind.  Which leads me to an important issue;  how do we teach them about adversity, without aggravating them or ourselves?

And anyone who is alive knows that adversity can come in a nanosecond.

I’m not planning on answering this particular question, but prefer to leave it open to discussion in our minds and lives.

Although I’m not saying we can’t learn a thing or two from Daddy Pig or Mommy Pig in fact, they handle George beautifully each time he has a tantrum and I daydream about handling Ian’s tantrums as smoothly.

So you see my dear friends, Dr. Phil is over-rated all you need to is tune in to Peppa Pig each day and you’ll find tons of parenting guides to help you raise your “already tough to deal with” preschooler.

And remember never stop believing in yourself or the good of life.

“Hasta la próxima.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

