Tags

, , ,

Day in and day out as a housewife and mom can prove to be more challenging than you imagine.

It’s challenging because we become comfortable in our discomfort.

Finding a purpose as we clean, cook and take care of others can be elusive.

via morgueFile

Haven’t we sometimes dragged our feet in the morning and simply thought, here comes another day of the same old, same old.

Every now and then some event in our lives gives us a sparkle and makes our day completely different, but then we go back to how we felt and to our dreadful routines.

Recently I’ve taken upon me to give my life a purpose, something to look forward to.  It’s been a bit of a change and my Universe has shifted lightly, but none the less its been worth it.  I feel changed in a way, it’s like I’m looking forward to those years that lay ahead of me with joy and passion.

I’m going back to school and hopefully back to work.

Getting from point A (finding Ms. Purpose) to point B (deciding to go back to school and work), wasn’t easy.

Probably Ms. Purpose proves to be elusive because we need to take a hard look at ourselves.  It’s much easier when we’re young.  However, when you are almost fifty and faced with where am I going from here on?  It can be challenging.

Purpose can play hide and seek with us for so long that when we finally grab her we’re to far gone to do anything about it.

In a culture where we adore vitality and youth becoming fifty isn’t funny.

Just imagine embracing a new career or wanting to go on a path of self discovery?

You know what, we should go for it.  No matter what others have taught us about aging and life.  I recently commented my plans to a friend and I got a “are you crazy stare”.  The other person asked me if I had thought through what I was doing because you know…”at our age”.

Good grief Charley Brown!  I felt like a dinosaur.

I could have kicked myself, we just can’t others dictate how we are going to live our lives.

Well, keeping my story short and my musing even shorter, undig your purpose in life from all the clutter we call routine and place it up, front and central and make all things fall around her, and not the other way around.  She may be elusive only if we let her be.

So you see “mis queridos amigos” reach out from your own point A towards that scary, but exciting B with sure pace and I’m more than sure you wont regret it because ultimately that’s what life is all about.

