Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Is it true what they say that we should become parents early in life because we’re vibrant and full of energy?

Using my experience I would probably say YES. Nevertheless, using that same experience I would also say NO.

My eldest daughter in Paris the year she entered her senior year in College.  (June/2011)

My eldest daughter in Paris the year she entered her senior year in College. (June/2011)

Parenting is as hard with my daughter which turned 24 this year, as it is with my youngest son which is only 2 1/2.

Actually I can’t forget my two boys that are 22 and 21 respectively, almost finishing their degrees in college.

To tell you the truth parenting is hard all way round.  Maybe people are right about parenting again after your forties because all our energies are wiped out.  None the less, we are more patient when we are older.  No longer what seemed so important as we raised our children in our late twenties and early thirties matter anymore.  You basically want that child to look into our world and challenge whatever it is that’s out there for him or her.

Basically going back in time has its perks, once I had the opportunity to see my oldest and youngest looking out the same window, she and her brothers would peep out to.

Sizes of motherhood.

Sizes of motherhood.

I hung on to my children more than I should have as I raised them with my husband, always dreading something would happen to them.  Thank God I gave them the precious gift of curiosity and logic reasoning and held on to my fears in private.  They all embrace their worlds and are more than willing to dive in at adventure and want to make their aspirations and dreams become realities.

When I look into the eyes of wonder my baby has it only serves to surprise me and I actually want to kick myself to make sure I’m not dreaming the blessing I live every day.  My son is a gift of grace, (actually his name means a gift from God).

Ian when he was six months old.

Ian when he was six months old.

Motherhood comes in all sizes and times in our lives.

Maybe parenting after forties is truly for fools, the good part is that actually I’m only two years away from my  50th birthday, so maybe by then someone would say,

Parenting in your 50’s is only for the brave and kind at heart…. because parenting can only truly be a blessing…

Summer 2013

Summer 2013

