Tags

, , , , , , ,

September 11th, 2001.

The day our world changed.

The day the western hemisphere saw how vulnerable everyone is.

via morgueFile

I can still recall watching how the Twin Towers just fell to the ground.  Having spent my childhood in New York I was familiar with the images I was seeing on television.  But something inside me just didn’t believe what my eyes were seeing.  It didn’t even feel for real.  That day I learned what surreal really meant.

After my first shock I thought about family members who lived in the city and was worried about them.  Were they okay?  My mom called and told me that she was going to go to my kid’s school and pick them up, just in case!

Just in case of what??????

via morgueFile

Nobody knew for sure what would happen next.

As the day unraveled and we watched over and over how the towers fell we met terror for the very first time.

Until that day and moment we really didn’t know what it was.

I really don’t know which has become our worst tragedy; the lost of so many innocent lives that day, the subsequent loss of thousands more in far away lands because of the military conflicts that rose after 911, the loss of our innocence as a nation, the loss of our liberties through a Patriotic Act that was passed to quickly in a confused Congress session and the grief of thousands of families across the United States and the Middle East.

So, how can we not remember the awful events of September 11?

Nevertheless, right can come from wrong.  What we need to make sure is that we get our “right” right.  Which translated is a bad thing can’t become a perfect excuse to do even worse.

via morgueFile

Rising above the bad needs to be accomplished through good.  But, the question that hinders in my head is, would that even be possible with all the water that has passed below our bridges?

What do you think?

 

 

 

