Today as I quietly listened to one of the hymns being sang at church, I looked at the cross for a long moment and just thought about how broken I’ve become.  My faith has been challenged over and over.  All I knew was that I’ve become detached from my church and from a God I believed in with blind faith.

via morgueFile

To my surprise my pastor talked about how important spirituality was, and how it was a relationship we had not only with God, but most importantly with people who surround us. I couldn’t have it said it better.

All my problems began when I stepped out of my comfort zone, and began placing God in time and space.

When I began to acknowledge that each Sunday as I attended church basically the same ritual was performed and it grew into a personal routine.

My thoughts have drifted many times during Sunday service.

Once it drifted towards  Native American Indians.  I’ve always been drawn to their history and have considered them the first Americans, certainly not the immigrants that settled in Jamestown.

Christianity like other Abrahamic religions are young and Native American Indians have been around for some time now.  In a world as old as ours, how can we possibly think as Christians  that God or our concept of God has only been around for about 2,000 years.  Where was God in 3,500 B.C. when all those communities of people were settling all over what today we know as the United States?

We repeat every Sunday that God is eternal, that he was here before time itself, that he created our World and Universe.

Which takes us to the next point, God was very much interacting with these emerging communities.  Maybe not in a way that we conceptualize him or her today, but in a way they were able to understand the concept.

Many of these communities were diverse and some differences were clear in their spirituality, but  basically across the board they believed in a spiritual deity which was one force that controlled their destinies.  They didn’t have what we have today in an organizational scale, but they had strong spiritual believes.

photo credit: morgueFile free photos

They didn’t have organized churches maybe they would have had to  give the equivalent of money to pay the Shaman’s tipi or pay him his books (housing and education),  or food for his horse (equivalent for soaring gas prices), or any other thing that he  felt he was entitled to.

They also relied on oral tradition and not written translations of translations of translations  of pieces of  what later would became known as the Bible.  When we talk not only do we engage in active learning, but we are able to learn communication skills with others.

This time taken to listen to others as they repeated the stories that the older people would tell gave the younger generation the opportunity to find their place among their community.  They were more successful than us in establishing multi-generational  communities than we are today.

So, where did all those good, well-behaved people go when they died under our standards or beliefs?

What about me, can I restore my faith in my own chosen deity?

Can I regain the same peace  I had once with what I believed in?

I really don’t know. But, I’m more than certain that they found peace at the end, the peace that  I hope my God can give me, which means roughly that my God was more than present way back then  in 3,500 B.C.

If not,  how many eternal Gods do we have around? 

