Tags

, , ,

Today as we shopped for our groceries, my husband asked me a simple question as we filled our shopping cart.

“Why do we still get along so well after all these years?”

“I really don’t know.”.  Was my answer, and to tell you the honest truth I don’t.

After almost 30 years together, this is something that still dazzles me.  How we are able to get along and share most of the things in our lives without bickering or getting into futile discussions that led nowhere.

via morgueFile

Many of our friends or family have asked us our recipe.  But, we really don’t have any to share because there is no specific way we do things.  The only thing I do know is that we would never hurt each other (at least not on purpose).

We’ve had our fair share of troubles, but they have been external things.  What I mean by external are things that have happened to us that we have no control over whatsoever.

We just get along, never ever say hurtful things to one another, never use derogatory names for each other, never be cruel, or harassing, or vengeful.  He’s the greatest thing that has ever happened to me and I might say that the feeling is vice versa.

The other day as I visited a friend her husband came from work, the way they said hello to each other lacked warmth.  Hey, they pet their dog with more tenderness than they showed each other during that brief moment.  Each time me or my husband leave we embrace in a good-bye hug and kiss, then we do the same thing when we get home from where ever we were.

My kids usually say,  “Get over yourselves!!!!”.

Yet at the end, we’re two ordinary people who live like everybody else.  There is absolutely nothing special about us, except the fact that we love each other yesterday, today and hopefully tomorrow.

My husband has carried a picture of our wedding day in his wallet ever since we married.

My husband has carried a picture of our wedding day in his wallet ever since we married.

Probably that’s our recipe.  What’s yours?

