Tags

, ,

“Life is like a box of chocolates,

you just don’t know what you’re gonna get.”

Forest Gump

Every movie or song we see or listen to is an opportunity for learning.  WE can relate to them as we think about our own life.  Our lives have a soundtrack to it, there are songs we can relate to specific times in our lives.  The same things happens with movies.

Forest Gump would be one of my favorites of all times.  He had a straight forward view of life and loved unconditionally.

One of my favorite parts of the movie was the scene in the bus stop. He was telling the lady that was waiting with him  about all the amazing things he had accomplished without pretense or being snobby about it.  She just looked at him in awe, as in this guy is nuts!

From my personal collection.  Taken at Mall of America, MO.

From my personal collection. Taken at Mall of America.

The point is that we do get a box of chocolates that we haven’t a clue of its content, yet what we do with our box is another story.

Some time ago I came across an inspiring story featured on ESPN (Carry On- Why I stayed by Lisa M. Fenn)  about two teenagers from inner Cleveland.  These boys basically had almost nothing working for them.  Nevertheless, they made the best of their “almost”.  They made full use of the resources they had at hand.  They could have concentrated only on “nothing”, but they chose to work with their “almost”.

Read their story here to become moved.

Life is something we can’t control, but we can control who we are or become along the way.

I’ve always marveled on the fact that throughout life we come across moments where our future is being impacted by our today, whereas we just can’t see it or be aware of it.

Even if life is a box of chocolates you get to choose which ones you want to eat!

Therefore, we have choices.  If I could go back in time, some of my own personal choices would remain the same, others not so.  I would definitely marry and start my family young, with the same guy!!!!  However, I would have made other choices in my professional career, and in my personal life.

What would you have done differently?

My love for chocolate is probably what I battle against the most.  Basically because it shows in my hips, yet I haven’t eaten all my chocolates.  I still have some left, which means that all my choices aren’t gone. Maturity has come with time, and now I’m more aware of what and where I want to do and go.

I can’t control which flavors are in the box, as neither I can with life.  Nevertheless, I can enjoy the surprise of discovery along the way.

It’s up to us what we’ll do with our discoveries.

