Tags

, , , , , ,

Listening to what we don’t want to hear is hard.

A couple of years ago I held a strong grudge against an old friend and just would not let it go.  My oldest son gave me a reality check on how things had gone and why he thought that we both acted against our friendship. We ventured together on a business with different perspectives and never talked about it openly.  Bottom line, I lost a dear friend and have carried the guilt of it through out the years.

Over the years many of us get stuck in our own ways.  I would love to emphasize the word “stuck” because it means there is no way we’re moving.  Stuck as in “quicksand” stuck !  We are up to our knees in it, meaning that change is not an option.

via morgueFile

One of my greatest challenges has been  learning  to listen to my daughter over the years,  even though sometimes it’s gone wrong and we’ve end up bickering and mad at each other.  Yet we overcome our anger and begin our conversations all over again.  It doesn’t matter if we do fight sometimes over things we don’t agree on, but we keep on working on it.  The important part is that we listen and try to understand each other.

I consider change to be a miracle because of its  cause and effect relationship.  Let us say for example if we change our perspectives on things like: homosexuality, we become more tolerant with those that surround us; the homeless, we become proactive in helping them overcome this way of life; and on drug addiction, we may find ways of helping them overcome their addiction.

“The miracle of change lives in all of us, we just to have to discover it.”

This amazing world we live on is always moving, changing, in constant evolution, and I ask myself, why can’t we be the same?   I know for a fact that it can be hard because I myself am as stubborn as a mule.  Nevertheless, I’m sure that after we take time to listen to the many voices that surround our lives we will be heading towards the right direction, the direction of change.

The same direction that will bring small miracles through our journey through life, that same direction will substitute the what ifs and make them only hows.  Instead of  handling it down to others,  we will begin saying how can I make that happen not only for me, but also for others.

Let’s embrace change as part of our core self  because when everything has been said and done, we’ll finally understand  that’s what living is all about!

